Learn to Swim – Seal

Learn to Swim – Seal

The Learn to Swim program, divided into four levels, teaches basic swimming and aquatic safety skills. Swimmers work on building an excellent foundation, working on the progressions for each stroke. Swimmers also increase their swimming distance with each level as they learn to make the right decisions when in or near the water.

It is the intent of the Seal level to orient the beginner to deep water, assist him or her to experience the buoyant qualities of deep water, introduce elementary swimming skills, and develop comfort and confidence in the deep water.

Children from 6 to 15 years-old will learn kicking and rolling. They will be capable to submerge for 5 seconds, they will be successfully kicking and rolling, they will be able to move from vertical to horizontal in deep water and swim back to the wall, as well as jump into deep water and swim back to the wall. They will practice their endurance with 2.5m front kicking, 5m back glide kicking and 2m side glide kicking.

Find all general objectives of the Seal level below:

Seal (6-15 years)

Cartierville YMCA Du Parc YMCA Notre-Dame-de-Grâce YMCA Saint Roch YMCA Westmount YMCA

The YMCAs of Québec Newsletter