Gregory Charles to Receive a YMCAs of Québec Peace Medal

On September 21, the YMCAs of Québec will reveal its 2016 Peace Medal finalists  at an event celebrating the International Day of Peace. Gregory Charles will also receive an honorary YMCA Peace Medal. We invite you to come and meet our laureates: Joé Juneau, a well-known hockey player who established a Nunavik youth development program, Jessica Bleuer, a drama therapist, Diane Sasson, an activist against domestic violence, the Réfléchis quand tu publies organization, the Je veux jouer Foundation as well as the Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal for launching an initiative to integrate Syrian refugees into the workforce.

Although violence, intolerance and conflict still plague our world, this event is an opportunity discover, meet and be inspired by people who are helping to build more inclusive and harmonious communities.  

Hosted by Alexandre Courteau, the award ceremony will take place during the YMCA Peace Medal gala dinner, the most important peace event in Québec for the benefit of children, young people and families at the YMCA. The event will feature performances by several artists, including: Serenade Chamber Orchestra – Tony Crooner.

Following the footsteps of past laureates, such as Simple Plan, Senator Roméo Dallaire and Michèle Thibodeau-Deguire, the YMCA Peace Medal finalists remind us that there are exceptional people who are committed to peace in Québec. Please join us as we pay tribute to this year’s medallists:

  • DATE: Wednesday, September 21, 2016
  • TIME: 5:30 PM
  • LOCATION: The Parquet, Centre CDP Capital, 1000 Place Jean-Paul-Riopelle, Montréal
  • R.S.V.P.: Diane Jeannotte / Diep Truong - 514 772-8019 / 514 436-2121 - dianej@djcom.ca / diep@exergue.ca

One of many activities celebrating the International Day of Peace in Montréal, the gala dinner will conclude the day’s festivities.

There will be opportunities to interview our laureates as well as Stéphane Vaillancourt, President and CEO of the YMCAs of Québec, and Brian Bronfman, Co-Chair, Organizing Committee